Joint Entrance Examination (JEE)

Joint entrance exam (JEE) is an engineering entrance exam conducted for admission to varied engineering colleges in India. It is conducted in two format examinations – JEE Main and the JEE Advanced.

There are some institutes like Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs), Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology (RGIPT), and Indian Institute of Science (IISc) use the score obtained in JEE Advanced as the basis for admission.

These institutes don’t participate in the post-examination counseling session.

Any student who takes admission to IITs cannot appear for the JEE-Advanced exam within the next year, but an equivalent isn’t the case with IISc, IISER, RGIPT and other institutes as these institutes only use JEE Advanced score for admission.

As per the reports from the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) of state of India, the govt is considering conducting just one common engineering entrance test supported the lines of NEET for all engineering colleges, including private institutions, across India.

JEE Main

JEE Main has two papers, Paper-1 and Paper-2. Candidates may choose either or both of them. Both papers contain multiple-choice questions.

Paper 1 is for admission to B.E./B.Tech courses and is conducted only online. Paper-2 is for admission in B.Arch and B.Planning courses and is conducted offline only.

From January 2020 a further Paper – 3 is being introduced for B.Planning courses separately

JEE Main, unlike JEE Advanced, features a fixed exam structure and isn’t subject to vary per annum. Paper-1 is of three hours duration and consists of thirty multiple-choice (single-correct) questions in each of the three subjects (physics, chemistry, and maths). 4 marks are awarded for proper answers and 1 mark is deducted for incorrect answers.

A new pattern consisting of 20+5 questions per subject is introduced in January 2020 with 20 multiple choice questions + 5 numerical type questions. In multiple-choice questions 4 marks are awarded for correct answers and no marks are deducted from numerical type questions. From 2013 to 2016, the marks obtained within the class XII board of education examination wont to be accorded a 40% weightage choose the JEE Main all India ranks.

JEE Advanced

The eligibility criteria for taking the JEE (Advanced) exam are
Candidates should rank among the highest candidates in Paper-1 of JEE (Main), weakened per category. For example, for JEE (Advanced) 2019, the highest 250,000 were eligible, but only 46.5% of these were open for all, the remainder being reserved for special categories.

Candidates should be but 25 years aged, with five-year relaxation for SC, ST, and PwD candidates.

Candidates can attempt examination at the most twice in two consecutive years.

Candidates should have qualified the category XII Board Examination (or equivalent) within the previous year.

Candidates shouldn’t have accepted admission in any of the IIT earlier.

In addition, candidates are required to either be within the category-wise top 20th percentile of successful candidates within the Class XII Board Examination or secure a 75% mark (65% for SC, ST, and PwD).

Some of the Platforms for Preparing for IIT JEE with Offline and Online Institutes

Offline Coaching Institutes

Aakash Institute

Career Point

Sri Chaitanya



Lakshya Institute

Online Coaching Institutes





Notice to Candidates:

JEE (Advanced) 2020 will now be persisted Sunday, August 23, 2020.
You can download an information brochure here.
Mock Test Link available here
Latest update on Examination here